Making my way

Been a while since I posted. I’ve been quite busy with a number of projects, many completely outside of the art world, but I’ve been busy with that too. I’ve become an Art Contributor to the staple Open Source game Battle for Wesnoth. Below are two pieces of mine that have been accepted into mainline and one that is a WIP but will be mainlined soon I hope. Expect many more of these in the future. Wesnoth is a great project that is starting to really shine artistically.



Secondly, I’ve been working quite hard on a new project. The idea behind it is that I will create a number of “Item Packs”, packs of 15 to 20 item illustrations that can be used freely for Game Prototyping, Equipment dialogues and other game uses, or be used for tabletop games as normal illustrations. I have one pack done, and am near completing another two. When they are done I am going to give copyrighted sneak peeks of the images, and set a ransom that once met will gradually make the licensing more and more permissive as money is raised for each pack. I’m hoping this will be away to contribute to open source game art while allowing me to make a little income to put towards classes and workshops so I can better do concept work for Open Source games. Here are a few from the Modern, Fantasy and Survival Horror packs:

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

Finally I have been trying my hand at concept art for a game called PARPG. It’s a post apocalyptic game based on the FIFE engine, whats especially interesting about it is that it takes place during a nuclear winter which allows for a whole new take on the costuming of the characters, since most PA fiction takes place in a desert setting. Expect a great deal more of this plus models from what I’ve made as they are completed.

Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket
Photobucket

3 Responses to Making my way

  1. m64 says:

    Really nice drawings. Would you mind sharing a bit of info about what technique are you using for coloring? I mean are you doing it digitally, or on the paper and what tools do you use?

    • justinnichol says:

      All of the stuff on this post was done digitally. The thumbnails/silhouettes and lineart was all done with a wacom tablet, with either size variation or size and opacity variation. The colored lineart was done with opacity sensitivity, it’s not the way I usually work, but I basically, had the lineart merged with the white background (not really a good thing), so I used brushes with the Multiply mode on and built up darker tones, then dodged highlights and reflected lights. Finally I used a Color mode Brush to add color influence to the reflected lights.

  2. m64 says:

    Thanks for the info, I was quite certain that the items were colored digitally, but the PARPG looked quite “analogue” so I thought these were done on paper.

    I am quite surprised that you do the lineart on the tablet, but it seems to work well for you.

Leave a Reply

